The World’s Best Mother’s Day Gift

So, ya’ll … Mother’s Day is on Sunday.

What are you going to do for your momma? You know, the woman who GREW you in her body and carried you around for 10 months, then grunted/screamed like a wild animal while she pushed you out? And probably got life-long hemorrhoids as a result of it? Not to mention that whole loving you unconditionally thing, clothing you, putting up with your NKOTB phase, and always being there for you? (Mom? I’m so, SO sorry for that NKOTB thing. Truly I am.)

I always get my mom flowers. Not only does she love them, but my Dad NEVER, EVER buys her flowers. He grew up on a flower nursery and — according to him — they are a colossal waste of money and they die.

So I buy them for her and feel him shaking his head and rolling his eyes as I hit the “buy” button.

But now that I have kids, I have so much more. I have manual labor! And no matter what they make, Grandma will ADORE it. (Winning!)

So this is what I did this year:

  1. Go to art supply store;
  2. Buy 2 8×8 canvases per grandma (the small one in the picture below), 1 package of washable finger paint, and a Sharpie;
  3. Get the kids good and exited about painting;
  4. Put blobs of paint on a paper plate;
  5. Let em loose; and
  6. Once dry, write their names and the year at the bottom.

Shazam! Instant wall art. Instant oohs and ahhhs. I also bought 10×10 canvases for myself. I want to do hand prints of the kids and hang them on our living room wall.

Note: The finger paint is also non-toxic. Which is good, because Allie put her blue-encased fingers in her mouth, freaked out, tried to wipe it off her tongue, then sneezed blue all over my face and shirt as I tried to clean her off. That wasn’t gross at all. Also: major props to Crayola for truly washable finger paint. Everything (including the kids) cleaned up super fast with either diaper wipes or good old-fashioned soap and water.

In all, the project cost me about $55 or about $18.30 per set. If I had thought of this sooner, I probably could have gotten the canvases on sale, but oh well. The best thing is that this is easy, homemade, and from the heart … which is WAY better than some stupid flowers that will be stinking up your garbage can in a week.

Also, I wish I had thought of this about 7 years ago, done my own hand print, and sent it to my mom. How confused would she have been?! Hah! (Note to self: call brother and have him do this …)

ps.

Hubbs and the kids are taking me out for brunch on Sunday! I’m rather excited about this because:

  1. I don’t have to cook breakfast.
  2. I don’t have to clean up after breakfast.
  3. I love brunch-type food!

pps.

The kids’ daycare is having a “Mother’s Day Tea” today and I’m ridiculously excited about it. I love seeing them play and interact with other kids their age and just having fun.

This entry was posted in Daily.

Leave a Reply

