Birthday Madness: I’m My Own Worst Enemy

I have 21 days until Sean’s 3rd birthday party. At which point, my house will be stuffed to exploding with friends and family and more toys.

Twenty-one days to clean, purge, donate, plan, buy, and execute.

It sounds like a lot of time — but since I work, I don’t get home until about 6:20 p.m. Sean goes to bed at 8 p.m. Which means I have about three hours each night to make dinner, clean up the dinner mess, get things ready for the next day, and relax for a little bit. The kids are like Tazmanian devils on weekends, pulling out every toy, playing with it, and discarding it around the house so it looks like we’re on an episode of Hoarders within an hour of their waking.

I took the week of the party off to prepare the food and do a deep clean of the house while the kids are at day care.  But I’m still nervous and stressed out about it.

There’s no logical reason for it. I know what needs to be done. But until I’ve gone into full geek mode and put things down on my calendar and start checking them off my list? I’m gonna be a basket case. It’s just the way I am.

For example: We’re going to do an Easter egg hunt. The party is a week after Easter, but small kids looking for brightly colored eggs in the backyard? Adorable and fun. Their goody bags will be Easter baskets, with small toys, stickers, and the candy that’s in the eggs. I’ve already worked out that I’m not buying any goody-bag related item until after Easter, when everything goes on super sale. I’ll also stock up on things like baskets, plastic eggs, stickers, and toys for next year’s party and store them in the garage. I’ve got this whole thing worked out.

And yet I stress. Oh, plastic eggs are on sale at Walgreens for 2 for $5. And I have a 15% off coupon! And so I’m debating whether I should fork out the $4.25 for 84 eggs now (at almost 9 cents an egg) or should I wait until after Easter when they’re practically guaranteed to be marked down to $1 each. Or 50% off. Or should I go to the dollar store and clean them out of their eggs after the holiday at 25 to 50 cents a bag?

I know the answer: I should wait. Wait. Wait. Wait.

So I make lists upon lists upon lists of things I’m going to buy. Price checking pasta and ingredients to determine whether I make homemade meatballs or buy frozen ones from Costco. Scouring grocery store ads. Looking for coupons.

I drive myself nuts sometimes. But its how my brain works.

Leave a Reply

