Fighting Off The Abyss

So I’ve been MIA lately. Its not because its been insanely busy or that the kids have been sick or that I won the lottery and moved to Tahiti. Its because the thought of doing anything other than the bare minimum made me want to take a very long walk off a pier with rocks in my pockets.

Folks, I’ve been in a severe funk and I’m only now starting to claw my way out of it.

I’m not really going to go into it, because I don’t like talking about it. Which, honestly, is probably why I got so deep in it. I’m usually one of those annoying “glass is half full”, happy-go-lucky kind of people. Not so much recently. I’ve been one of those gets annoyed with my kids for being normal , wants to crawl into bed and never come out, snaps at her husband for no good reason kind of funks. And I don’t like it. Not one bit.

Neither does the Hubbs. I don’t blame him, either. He took to calling me Eeyore last week and I very nearly ripped his head off for it. As in, my hands twitched and my fingers turned into witch’s talons and I grew a wart on my nose. OK, it was a zit, but whatever.

Beyotch has gone crazy.

Chalk it up to the changing weather, being crazy busy at work, not making any time for myself, vestiges of post-partum depression, possible high blood pressure (thanks pre-eclampsia!), I have no freaking idea. But no more. I’ve decided that I’m done with it.

BECAUSE I SAID SO. (Cause that totally works, ya’ll.)

And actually, after giving myself a major mental bitch-slap, I feel a lot better. Not yet normal, but better. I’m starting to walk straighter again instead of slouching at the shoulders. I’m playing with my kids again — as in, down on the floor, rolling around, and having fun kind of playing, not just sitting on the couch and smiling at them. I can feel my backbone coming back. When I wake up, instead of thinking “oh god, I have to do this again?!” its more of a “let’s go” vibe. I’ve tortured the Hubbs with long, labyrinth-type talks and have promised to carve out some “me” time when something interesting (translation: I’m looking for coupons/daily deal-type thing) comes up. (Getting a full mani/pedi, massage, and joining a relaxation yoga class are high on my list.)

I still have a long way to go and a lot of work to do. But I’m coming back.

I just wanted you to know.

p.s.

I’m still working on Allie’s ladybug antennae. I made a hat and it didn’t fit. (And yes, I totally cried about it.) But more on that later.

Also! One of these days I’ll post about how to switch out dimmer lights for on/off switches and only shock/electrocute yourself once! Good times!

This entry was posted in Daily.

2 comments on “Fighting Off The Abyss

  1. Erin says:

    Oh sweets. I am right there with you, for altogether different reasons, but I get it. It’s hard to re-right yourself — it’s kind of like walking up a staircase very slowly. You really do need some “me” time. And maybe a vacation. Call/email me any time and we can bitch about the blues.

Leave a Reply

