Pantry Challenge: Day 2

Monday when I got home from work, I peeked into the fridge and freezer. What could I use to make lasagna? I have the no-bake lasagna noodles and some sauce. Now what else shall we use? More leftover rotisserie chicken? Sauteed chicken sausage? Hamburger? Pepperoni?

Dude. This is a pantry challenge. I’m breaking some rules. I totally used the pepperoni.

Boiling noodles is for losers!

Note: According to the package’s nutritional facts — I think I just snorted — 1 serving of pepperoni is 15 slices, and each box is about 3.5 servings. For the entire lasagna, I used less than half of the package, and the dish serves 4. So let’s guesstimate and say I used a little less than 2 servings of pepperoni for 4 people. And yes, this is how I’m justifying using pepperoni when I’m on a diet.

Anyhoo.

Today’s dinner is also made from items I already had in the house. Nothing in here was purchased during my weekly shopping trip

Shell’s Kinda-like-pizza lasagna

Ingredients:
2 shallots, diced
1.5 bags sliced crimini mushrooms (I was supposed to use these last week and forgot. Whoops!)
1 jar vodka sauce
1/8 jar marinara (because I didn’t want to waste it)
?? low-fat shredded mozzarella (I had a mere sprinkling left in a bag)
1/2 block cheddar and colby jack cheese (about 4 oz), shredded
30 (or so) slices of pepperoni
6 no-bake lasagna noodles
2 tsp herbs de Provance
salt & pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Saute the mushrooms in a skillet, season with salt, pepper, and herbs de Provance. When they start to sweat, add the diced shallot.
2. Pour the marinara and a ladle-full of vodka sauce in the bottom of a baking dish (mine is square, just wide enough for two noodles) and top with 2 lasagna noodles (top to bottom).
3. Sprinkle mix of mozzarella and colby jack on top of noodles. Add a layer of the mushrooms and shallots. Top with 9 slices of pepperoni. Try not to eat any. (I saw that.)
4. Ladle 2 spoons of vodka sauce on top of the pepperoni and top with two more lasagna noodles — this time, lay the noodles side-to-side. It makes for a stronger casserole.
5. Repeat steps 3 and 4 one more time.
6. Ladle more vodka sauce on top and sprinkle with cheese and a pinch of herbs de Provance.
7. Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight. Let come to room temperature and then follow the directions on your noodles for cooking. For me, I get to cook this for 45 minutes at 375 degrees, then let it sit for 15-20 minutes (important! This helps it absorb the sauce so the entire thing isn’t runny.).

I’ll probably serve this with either steamed broccoli or roasted broccoli with Parmesan cheese. And since it serves 4, but only two people will be eating it (the boy still won’t try noodles *sigh*), we’ll have leftovers. Bonus!

2 comments on “Pantry Challenge: Day 2

  1. Jason Leary says:

    Considering that fact that we had diced green beans with sliced almonds as a side dish to your faux-chiladas last night we should probably have something like refried beans with tonight’s dinner to maintain the “Say whaaaaaaaaaaaaaat?” factor.

Leave a Reply

