30 Minutes To Save Your Sanity

For 30 minutes each day, I am the only person in the world. It is peaceful. It is undisturbed. It is sacred.

Thirty minutes.

For 30 minutes each day, I am left completely alone: Nobody intrudes. It is the one time I carve out of the day to be completely and utterly selfish. It is time for me. Neither my husband nor my children (who are asleep) intrude. It is a time to rehash my day. Time to work through any kind of problem I may be having. Time to unplug my brain and just be.

At the end, I’m breathless but my spirit is full. I’m tired, yet more awake than I was before.

And its funny, because in high school the one thing I hated most was running. I am not a runner. And that’s putting it lightly. I always despised it. Dreaded it. Reviled it. Recoiled from it.

And yet here I am: 31 years old and I look forward to hopping on our elliptical trainer every night. (And admitting that I’m 31. What’s wrong with me?)

Thirty minutes.

I can’t wait.

2 comments on “30 Minutes To Save Your Sanity

  1. Erin says:

    Reaaaaalllly wish I could get my butt in gear to do something like this every day.

  2. Honestly? The hardest part is starting. The first week I had to actively force myself to do it. But now I look forward to it every night. Just like the Hubbs looks forward to his walk every night. After awhile, it becomes almost addictive.

Leave a Reply

