Counting It Down And More Randomness

Do you remember your senior year of high school? How about how you just could not focus the last oh … month of school because you had a major case of Senioritis?

That’s kind of how the Hubbs and I are feeling right now. I’m 39 weeks pregnant. A mere 12 days from my due date — not that this baby will arrive on time. My hospital bag is packed. Our plans for who will watch Sean have been set. I’ve written and printed out Sean’s operating instructions (and emergency instructions) for said babysitters, because I’m a geek and that’s how I roll. With all the important stuff taken care of, we’ve pretty much lost steam with everything else. That stuff takes concentration. It requires you to focus for more than five minutes at a time.

I don’t have that in me right now.

For example, I actually made dinner last night. And when I say “I made dinner” I mean that I didn’t just pop something into the microwave/oven from the fridge/freezer like I have for the past … oh … month? I made steamed artichokes, cauliflower au gratin, and NY strip steaks.

For a normal person, that isn’t so hard:

  1. You trim the artichokes, throw them in a pot with about 4 inches of water and let them steam for a good 40 minutes. Done.
  2. For the cauliflower? I used a small head of cauliflower — you cut it up, steam it for 10 minutes (I have a handy-dandy microwave steamer), and treat them like mashed potatoes: mash, add some cream/half and half, sour cream, salt and pepper. Dump the mix into a oven-safe dish and top with cheddar cheese, and bake at 375 for about 15 minutes or until the cheese is melted and toasted. (I bake it in my toaster oven. I have mad love for that appliance.) Hubbs adds bacon bits to his after the fact, so its kind of like a baked potato.
  3. The steaks are the easiest: Salt and pepper on both sides and cook in a hot pan with olive oil and a smidge of unsalted butter until you’ve got a good crust on both sides. Let rest, with a foil cover, for 10 minutes before serving. 

The cauliflower acts as the potatoes in this meal, so you’re actually eating TWO real vegetables with it.

So again, not a difficult meal. But I was seriously exhausted after making it. It will be so nice to not have to nap before making dinner again …
_________________________________

In honor of Sean, this is what we’ll be bringing the Peanut home in:

Tiny socks!

And since its December and cold, she’ll also be covered in blankets and (likely) a sweater.
______________________________

And since its been awhile, some random Sean moments:

He likes to push buttons on phones. Especially “redial”.

After about 20 pictures, I got this look. Hello attitude.

One of his favorite toys: Every side has different activities.

But the world’s best toy? A mylar balloon. So happy!

Leave a Reply

