Inspiration

A very talented friend has made me pause and think today.

She’s on a mission to be ridiculously optimistic and radically trusting this year. She’s challenging herself — and all of us who read her blog — to come along for the ride. (http://windshieldrosary.blogspot.com)

This weekend, her challenge for us is to be quiet. In essence, to shut up. And listen. To take things in. To detach ourselves from our electronic, plugged-in, nonstop world.

It made me think about my favorite quiet moments during my week:

My first is on the weekends. Early in the morning just after the Monkey wakes up (and the Hubbs is still asleep), we sit in our new rocker/recliner and snuggle. The Monkey will cuddle up next to me, his little head laying against my side as he rubs the sleep from his eyes, yawns, and sighs. We keep the lights off, preferring the sleepy darkness for about 20 minutes.

Then he’s awake, squirming away from me to play with his trucks and farmhouse, looking at me expectantly because this is when we watch Sesame Street together.

Christina’s post made me think about why I cherish this time so much. Its because this moment is fleeting. Some mornings, we sit for 20 minutes. Other times its 10 minutes. And someday, hopefully far in the future, he won’t want to sit and snuggle with me anymore. He’ll be too old or too cool for it. And it’ll break my heart. So I cherish it now. Because its fragile, yet one of the most soul-refreshing parts of my existence.

The other quiet moment I enjoy is after the Monkey goes to bed and after the Hubbs and I have done whatever we need to do for that night and settle on the couch together. We’ll watch a movie or a show and just be together for awhile. Its just so peaceful and restful.
_____________________________

My other inspiration this week comes from another friend, MOAM (http://www.zeromusings.com/). She’s quitting her job to follow her dream of writing a book. I’m truly awed, because she’s daring to be unemployed; daring to step out into the great unknown; daring herself to succeed.

She’s also running a 5k in two months, something that makes me cringe and reminds me of Fridays in high school when we’d have to run a little over a mile. To set that goal on top of her other ambitious goal is just so … brave? Ambitious? I can’t seem to find the words.

But most of all, I’m proud of her. I’m proud to know her, she with the iron-clad cajones and determination to make her dream a reality.

I’ve learned something from these strong, amazing friends of mine: If you need inspiration, look at yourself. At your family. At your friends. If you’re as blessed as I am, you’ll never need to look any further.

2 comments on “Inspiration

  1. Christina says:

    Thank you, Monkey Momma! You made my day!

  2. Erin says:

    Thanks babe. You're not so bad yourself. ūüėČ

Leave a Reply

